High Intensity Intervals For Old People Like Me Part II

Monday was my leg day, and after testing the out limits of my quadriceps weight bearing abilities, the last thing I wanted to do was to get on the stair stepper or treadmill and run.  So I experimented with the incline and speed on the treadmill.  I took my baseline heart both with a stop watch and the machine and it correlated well at around 68 beats per minutes (bpm).  Then I started off at 3 degrees incline and at 2.5 miles per hour (mph) on the treadmill.  With each change in the variables, I correlated the machine readout of my heart rate with my stopwatch, and they were actually quite comparable.  I increased my incline sequentially by a few degrees, and increased my walking rate to 3 mph.  at 15 degrees incline and 3 mph, my heart rate was persistently in the 130+ range.  At 10 degrees, it was in the 120 range.  So I varied the incline every 2-3 minutes, and kept the speed at a comfortable constant 3 mph for 40 minutes.  At the end, my legs did not hurt, and I had a good cardio workout.  It also did not seem as onerous as pushing myself hard on the treadmill or stair stepper for 30 minutes, and I achieved the same calculated calorie goal.  For those who say that they don’t have 40 minutes to do this type of experiment, you can split it up into 2 20 minute sessions, one in the morning and the second at night.  In fact, there is research that suggests splitting up cardio into 2 shorter sessions rather than 1 long session boosts your metabolic rate higher than just one session.

Leave a Reply

