Deadlifting

I unfortunately have to agree that deadlifting is probably the most bang for the buck weight lifting maneuver.  As much as I don’t like doing it, the move really improves my core and strengthens my upper body.  As with most other type A personalities, I get addicted to the exercise easily, and try and pack on more weight in order to outdo myself.  I think that why I tore my rotator cuff on the incline dumbbell press.  So I try to think like a mature 56 year old and do reasonable weights.  I learned a lot from listening to Pavel Tsatsouline, the chairman of StrongFirst.  Pavel apparently introduced the west to the kettle bell training program.  A few tricks I learned from him include gripping the bar really hard helps recruit muscles during a lift.  Also concentrating on tightening the core muscles just prior to the actual lift seems to make the effort easier.  He also mentions that the Russian powerlifters usually stick to 6 reps in order to build mass.  There are a ton of videos on Youtube on deadlifting technique by Mark Rippetoe, Dan John, and Ed Coen.  The  one I think that is most informative for us normal sized folks is at the link by Mark Rippetoe.   

Leave a Reply

