Lean Body Mass

I used to think that weight control was just an issue of calories in versus calories out.  Now I have to face the fact that what I was taught many years ago, and spouted off with regularity may not be exactly correct.  I know from my own personal body hacks that the old paradigm of low fat diet did not work, especially after age 50.  I actually eat much more fat in my daily diet.  My morning  starts of with 2 cups of coffee with a single teaspoon of brown sugar, and a spoonful of MCT oil.  I then drink a 42 g Myoplex EAS protein shake (Chocolate of course!) in between seeing patients.  A couple of spoonfuls of natural peanut butter helps.  I also eat 2 handfuls of pistachios, and well as 2 handfuls of almonds.  For lunch, I have protein such as chicken breast and salad.  I have a mid-afternoon snack of greek yoghurt, and then hit the gym.  I usually lift weights for 50-60 minutes, but I don’t take more than a 3-5 minute break between sets. I then do 30-40 minutes of cardio, either treadmill or stair stepper.  I try and do high intensity intervals if at all possible, but sometimes my body just is too tired, so i just try and be persistent and complete 40 minutes of some type of cardio with a minimal heart rate of 100.  As I am finishing my weight lifting part, I take 25 grams of cold ultra filtered whey protein, 25 grams of casein, and 5 grams of creatine in about 12 – 16 ounces of water.  I learned a lot by researching proteins before I made my purchase.  A good general rule of thumb is look at the ingredients on the side of the protein package.  If it is high in cholesterol (greater than 10-20 mg per serving), it is not a good quality protein.  Then I have dinner, usually protein and vegetables.  By sticking to this regimen, my waist size is 30, and my body fat is the lowest it has ben since I was a teenager.  By the way, interesting factoid that most people don’t know.  Waist size of 40 inches or greater in men an 35 or greater in women is an independent risk factor for cardiovascular disease.  In plan English, this means that even if you are not diabetic or have high blood pressure, you are at an increased risk for heart attacks and strokes if your waist size is greater than 40 inches or 35 inches in a male or female, respectively.

Leave a Reply

