Medium Chain Triglyceride (MCT) oils

OK so I am in my third week of about 3 teaspoons of MCT oils.  I must confess I have not noticed a big difference in the way I feel, but I will reserve final judgement until I have completed 6 weeks of using the MCT oil, and then make a decision about continuing to take it daily as a supplement.  The possibilities are either:

  1.  It does not really make you feel better or give you more energy as its proponents claim
  2. The effects are subtle, and not clinically detectable, but maybe the blood work will be a better indication of the effects of MCT oil
  3. I am not taking enough of the MCT oil to make a clinical difference in the way I feel
  4. I altered too many factors at the same time as staring the MCT oil, including starting on a ketogenic lifestyle, doing more cardio, splitting up cardio into 20 minutes in the am, and 20-30 minutes in the pm
  5. The MCT oil I am taking is not “therapeutic enough” and there are better ones on the market

I am inclined to think it is #1, but I will reserve judgement until I have taken it for 6 weeks, and then stop to see if there are any changes.  Stay tuned…

One thought on “Medium Chain Triglyceride (MCT) oils

  1. I know MCT have been given a hype as of late, but if you are going ketogenic and have a diet where your fat is closing in on 50-60% of you total energy intake, I don’t really see how you would benefit from taking MCT oils. The idea is that MCT enter the bloodstream in order to be used as a direct source of energy, but when you go ketogenic you are likely to already have enough fuel in the blood from both your diet and fats from your fat cells.

    If you are struggling getting enough kcal per day, MCT oil could be a solution, but I would first bump up the animal fat content or start adding coconut oil to some meals. Coconut is way cheaper too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

